« back to waiting families

Nathan & Desiree

Nathan & Desiree

RACE OF CHILD INTERESTED IN ADOPTING:

Caucasian


Dear Birthmother,

We are so grateful you are taking the time to review our profile and considering us to raise your baby. We have so much admiration for your bravery as you consider the best option for you and your baby.

We have been together for many years and both come from large families that are super close and full of warmth, love, and support. If you choose us, we will provide a loving, stable home life for your child and would love to start many family traditions with your child, including annual camping trips, family vacations to national parks, and baking (and eating!) cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning. We’ll provide opportunities for your child to explore different hobbies and interests, and we will encourage them and guide them throughout school. We’ll read to them and take them kayaking and hiking. Desiree would teach your child how to ride a bike, and Nate would teach them how to ski.

We are very excited to start our journey into parenthood and cannot wait to share our loving, supportive, and fun lives with your child. We truly thank you for taking the time to consider us!


About

About Us

We’re Nate and Desiree, and we’ve known each other for twenty years, since meeting during high school band. Nate is a constant voice of reason but also has a goofy side to him! It’s not uncommon for him to burst into song as he cooks dinner or to put on a fun song and grab Desiree’s hand for some impromptu dancing. Desiree has a deep empathy for others and is one of the warmest people Nate knows. Desiree has a love of reading (She always has a book with her!) and is an endurance cyclist in her free time. We love to spend time with family, playing music with community bands, working on our house, enjoying campfires in the backyard, and traveling across the U.S. and overseas. We both have careers working as data analysts: Nate in the energy efficiency industry and Desiree in the biotech industry.


Home

Our Home

We live in New England with our two cats, Athena and Oscar. Our house is nestled in the woods on a quiet street ideal for cycling and running around. There are young families in the neighborhood, and we often see our neighbors walking their dogs or the neighborhood kids biking up and down the street. We have a firepit out back that we often gather around on cool nights with family and friends. It's common to see deer roaming through the backyard and wild turkeys strutting down the street. We’d love to get chickens someday and are hoping to build a vegetable garden next summer! Athena and Oscar are seven years old. They’re pretty chill and love sleeping in boxes, playing with hair ties, and chasing lasers.


Extended Family Extended Family

Our Extended Family

Our parents live in the same town as we do. Desiree’s parents still live in the same house she grew up in and are young and actively involved in our lives. Nate’s parents just built their retirement home and have two yellow Labs. Both of our parents are thrilled to become grandparents. Your baby would be the first grandchild on each side of the family.

We each have siblings who also live locally. Desiree has a twin sister, and Nate has a younger brother who recently got married. They are all excited to welcome your baby into our family and cannot wait to become aunts and uncles.

Actually, the vast majority of our extended families are located within a thirty-minute drive, so there’s always a barbecue in the summer, family camping trips and game nights, and many large gatherings for holidays. Not only are our families close but we both come from large extended families with lots of cousins, aunts, and uncles.


Story

What Led Us To Adoption

We knew early on in our marriage that adoption was the right path to build our family. Desiree was diagnosed with a chronic illness while in college, and while she maintains a healthy and active lifestyle, navigating a pregnancy would be extremely high risk. We wholeheartedly believe adoption is a blessing that would allow us the opportunity for children that may otherwise not have been possible.


Facts About Nathan

  • Occupation: Senior consultant - energy efficiency
  • Religion: Jewish/Atheist
  • Education: BA Russian, BA Philosophy, MA Public Policy
  • Favorite Food: Japanese cuisine (especially sushi)
  • Favorite Hobby: Home improvement, audiobooks, playing trumpet
  • Favorite Movie: The Princess Bride
  • Favorite Sport: Alpine skiing, scuba diving
  • Favorite Music Group: Bruce Hornsby and the Noisemakers
  • Favorite TV Show: Star Trek, Arrested Development, most cooking shows
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Road trip through all European countries

Facts About Desiree

  • Occupation: Sr. sales analyst - biotech
  • Religion: Catholic
  • Education: BA Music, BA Justice Studies, MA Public Policy
  • Favorite Food: Mom’s meatloaf
  • Favorite Hobby: Reading, playing bassoon, nordic skiing
  • Favorite Movie: Captain Fantastic
  • Favorite Sport: Cycling (especially endurance cycling)
  • Favorite Music Group: Tim McGraw
  • Favorite TV Show: New Girl, The Big Bang Theory
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: Road trip to all national parks

Contact Nathan & Desiree

  1. Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Email Address(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Phone Number
    Invalid Input
  4. Race of Baby
    Invalid Input
  5. Due Date ex. June 2016
    Invalid Input
  6. Message
    Invalid Input